Shhh… do you hear that?

…It’s the winds of change.  Today marks the end of a three year chapter in my life-my last day working at Starbucks!  The past two weeks have been a time for me to look back and see how far I have come since my first day as a barista. If you’re asking yourself how far that could really be, I can assure you, it’s enough to prompt this blog! I won’t get into it ALL now, but it’s my reason #1.

Despite my record as an inconsistent and aimless journal-er (there’s got to be a better way to say that), I realize the value in having written word to look back on. You know, the value of the moments when you re-read to what you wrote a month ago, a year ago, or longer, and you think, wow, I was SO smart/ crazy/ hopeful/ brave/ clueless back then! I love that moment when you learn something about yourself, about someone else, or about the world around you. To me, those moments and lessons are ingrained in us even more when we have the words in front of us instead of just thoughts in our heads. So my primary reason in starting this blog is as a record for myself.  I have high hopes that I will be more consistent, if not more concise in my writing.

Secondly,  I generally try not to engage in online conflict- political, religious, or otherwise.  It seems to me that any given comment or opinion thrown out to 650 facebook friends is bound to offend SOMEONE, and my rational is this: if I write something HERE that offends you, and you are actually reading this right now, you are probably either a blood relative or a very close friend, and you will love me anyway 🙂  Unlike the 658-wait 657- of my closest Facebook “friends”.

Thirdly, I think blogging is cool.  I love the community that is formed by people expressing themselves in this form.  I think it’s so great how every blogger has his or her own interests and experience. The bonds that are formed when one person finds some reflection of themselves in another are so cool.  Like C.S Lewis said, “Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another: What! You too? I thought I was the only one”.

And that, my friends, is why I decided to start writing. The end 🙂

One thought on “Shhh… do you hear that?

Leave a comment